Devotional Elation, the Result

“Listen, O daughter, Consider and incline your ear; Forget your own people also, and your father’s house;”‭‭Psalms‬ ‭45:10‬ ‭NKJV‬‬

05.15.16
00:00

I had just spent the last forty five minutes scanning the Chinook Observer for jobs and housing, then scouring Calvary chapel Seattle’s website for my potential next step. All the while I was totally convicted by the Holy Spirit. I heard Him asking me why I had all of a sudden stopped trusting in His plan and His provision for that plan. I heard Him ask me why I wasn’t being where I was, why I was failing to “BE HERE NOW.”. I heard Him saying don’t get ahead of yourself. I’ve got this, I always have and I always will. 

So I closed Safari and zoomed over to the bible with the notion of needing an upper. I was beginning to feel stressed, anxious, uncomfortable, and squirmy. My prayer before opening the app and reading Psalms 44 and 45 for the 14th and 15th days of the month was something along the lines of “God please gimme something to soothe me and help me sleep.”. I can’t remember verbatim but it was definitely to that effect. 

Once again conviction struck and I realized the peace of God is not a pill I can just pop when I’ve indulged myself in too much of the world, and now feel the ill effects of a filthy diet. I repented and made a more humble petition this time. 

Our glorious King confidently set before me Psalm 45:10, “Listen, O daughter, Consider and incline your ear; Forget your own people also, and your father’s house;”
‭‭Psalms‬ ‭45:10‬. This is I believe the third verse He has given me regarding this subject. However, this has been the most direct. It is humbling, piercing, calming, hope instilling, and joy giving all at the same time. How quickly I forget, but He is faithful to remind me right when I need it. That He is good, He is in control, and He loves me.

I serve a righteous, steadfast, glorious, majestic, omnipotent God. He is a good, good Father. My words will ever fail to express the wonder of my King, my Lord, my Savior, my Friend, my Comforter. All glory, honor, and praise be to the Father of lights, forever and ever amen.

Leave a Reply

