Philippians 3:8

“Yet indeed I also count all things loss for the excellence of the knowledge of Christ Jesus my Lord, for whom I have suffered the loss of all things, and count them as rubbish, that I may gain Christ”‭‭Philippians‬ ‭3:8‬ ‭NKJV‬‬

“Thus says the LORD: “Let not the wise man glory in his wisdom, Let not the mighty man glory in his might, Nor let the rich man glory in his riches; But let him who glories glory in this, That he understands and knows Me, That I am the LORD, exercising lovingkindness, judgment, and righteousness in the earth. For in these I delight,” says the LORD.”

‭‭Jeremiah‬ ‭9:23-24‬ ‭NKJV‬‬
“And this is eternal life, that they may know You, the only true God, and Jesus Christ whom You have sent.”

‭‭John‬ ‭17:3‬ ‭

John 17:3 makes a bold statement. It says knowing Christ is what life is all about. It is the thing. “Nothing else matters. Nothing in this world will do.” Jeremiah 9:23-24 goes even further by denouncing the prestige of worldly indicators of glory; wisdom, might, and wealth. These things pale in comparison to the source of true glory, knowing and understanding God. 
In Philippians chapter three this truth is modeled through the life of Paul. He certainly knew and understood God. Therefore he forsook all of his credentials, anything that brought him honor by worldly standards. Paul considered his earthly attainments as liabilities in God’s economy. He likened them to waste, rubbish, sewer, garbage. Now that I am aware of where glory really comes from, I shall seek to do likewise.
I will devote myself to the pursuit of intimacy with God. In continual prayer I am going to petition God for an insatiable knowledge and understanding of Him.

Leave a Reply

