Ephesians 6:1/Colossians 3:20

“Children, obey your parents in the Lord, for this is right.”
Ephesians 6:1

“Children, obey your parents in all things, for this is well pleasing to the Lord.”
Colossians 3:20

 

This one really didn’t take much dissection to find an application. There are a few areas in which I am vehemently and perpetually disobedient to my parents.
Most irksome for my mother would have to be my lack of communication. While abroad I speak to her maybe once a month. She takes this to mean I do not love her and it brings devastation. My rationale for sparse contact is that so far all of my faculties are in check, my limbs intact, I’ve avoided the brink of death, I’m not engaged, and I’m not pregnant. If any of that we’re to change she would be the first to know!
Humor aside, the reality of why I rarely reach out is I haven’t needed anything. Selfish, I know. But when my world crumbles, I call my mom. When I’m in desperate need of deliverance from a sticky situation, I call my mom. Never do I call just to send some love or gratitude. Never do I call to see how she is doing. What’s worse is that whenever she broaches this subject my annoyance flairs up and I act like she’s being needy and overbearing. How wrong I am! In truth she just loves me. She only wants to know what’s going on in my life because she cares about me, not because she’s being intrusive. 
Oftentimes I act similarly towards God; praying only to petition Him for deliverance or a fulfillment of my desires. When I am in a place of trouble my first impulse is almost always to lift up my situation to Him. Why is it not the same when I am in a season of praise? Perhaps it ought to be. Perhaps I ought to start lifting up a little thanksgiving to the Lord of all creation. Perhaps I ought to call my mother while I’m at it. 
Starting today I am going to call my mother at least biweekly. I am also going to keep a running list of things to thank God for and do so in my daily devos.

Leave a Reply

